Wisconsin State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest

70 youth competed at the State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest held on July 17th in Black River Falls in conjunction with the State Ayrshire and Guernsey shows.

Ayrshire and Guernsey animals were pulled out of the show strings and Holstein, Brown Swiss, and Jersey cattle were trucked in from nearby farms to make classes for the contest.  A huge thank you goes out to all of the Black River Falls area breeders who provided animals for the contest and to the Ayrshire and Guernsey breeders who welcomed the State 4-H Dairy Judging Contest to their show.

Dodge County was the top overall and reasons team in the Senior division and will go on to represent Wisconsin in the National 4-H Dairy Judging Contest at World Dairy Expo. The Shawano County team took second place overall and will represent Wisconsin and compete at the All American in Harrisburg, PA. Emma Gwidt from Shawano County was the high individual overall and Dawson Nickels from Dodge County was the top reasons individual in the Senior division. The top 4 individual seniors who were not on one of the first or second place teams will come together to form a team that will represent Wisconsin at the NAILE in Lousiville, KY. These 4 individuals are Eva Doornick of St. Croix County, Elise Bleck of Sheboygan County, Colin Uecker of Jefferson County, and Vanessa Roberts of Manitowoc County.

In the Junior competition Barron County won first team overall and St. Croix County was the top team in the Type Analysis Questions category. Summer Hammann from Barron County was the top individual and won the Type Analysis Questions category. Sheboygan County was the second high team in the Junior age division.


For a complete listing of results, follow this link:

Juniors:Junior Results

Seniors: Senior Results

For Photos, follow this link to our Facebook Page



Top Ten Junior Individuals: (L to R) Summer Hammann (1), Brady Bleck (2), Campbell Booth (3), Emma Bangart (4), Justyne Frisle (5), Bekah Luckwaldt (6), Ambrea Kjos (7), Libby Wagner (8), Sydney Kauffman (9), Natalie Mark (10)


First Place Junior Team: Barron County (L to R): Steve Fronk (Coach), Alleah Anderson, Regina Frisle, Summer Hammann, Justyne Frisle

Second Place Junior Team: Sheboygan County (L to R): Ella Bindl, Campbell Booth, Brady Bleck

Top Ten Reasons Individuals: (Back Row, L to R) Ashley Hagenow (10), Madelynn Gwidt (8), Erica Helmer (7), Vanessa Roberts (4), Kylie Nickels (2)

(Front Row, L to R) Mason Jauquet (9), Luke Powers (5), Matthew Gunst (6), Dawson Nickels (1), Ben Buske (3)


Top Reasons Team: Dodge County (L to R) Linda Behling (coach), Matthew Gunst, Kylie Nickels, Dawson Nickels, Ben Buske

Top Ten Senior Individuals: (Back Row, L to R) Eva Doornick (6), Elise Bleck (7), Colin Uecker (8), Vanessa Roberts (9), Lauren Siemers (10)

(Front Row, L to R) Ben Buske (5), Dawson Nickels (4), Erica Helmer (3), Kylie Nickels (2), Emma Gwidt (1)


First Place Senior Team: Dodge County (L to R) Dawson Nickels, Kylie Nickels, Matthew Gunst, Ben Buske, Linda Behling (coach)

Second Place Senior Team: Shawano County (L to R) Madelynn Gwidt, Colin Wussow, Mason Jauquet, Emma Gwidt

Louisville Team: (L to R) Vanessa Roberts, Eva Doornick, Elise Bleck, Colin Uecker