Dodge County Takes State Dairy Quiz Bowl Title

Shawano County Top Honors in Dairy Management Contest

The State 4-H Dairy Quiz Bowl and Dairy Management Contests were held January 28, 2017 on the UW-Madison campus. Big winners included Dodge County’s senior Dairy Quiz Bowl team and Shawano County’s senior team in the Dairy Management Contest. Both of these teams advance on to national competitions.

The Dairy Bowl competition tested the dairy knowledge of over 151 4-H members who participate in the dairy project at the county level. Contestants answered questions about the dairy cattle industry including topics as genetics, health, nutrition, and many others. Four and three-person teams competed in three divisions of junior, mixed, and senior.

In the senior division, made up of 4-H members between the ages of 14 and 19, Dodge County topped Polk County in a tiebreaker match. Dairy Bowl is a double elimination contest. With the victory, Dodge County will represent Wisconsin at the national competition later this fall in Louisville, Kentucky. Team members included Kylie Nickels, Kaitlin Neu, Matthew Gunst, and Dawson Nickels. This team was coached by Linda Behling and Carrie Warmka.

“We’re very proud of the effort and dedication of all the Dodge County team members to win the senior contest. The contest was very competitive, with great teams from all around the state,” said by Linda Behling who also said the team is looking forward to representing Wisconsin at the National Contest.

Eleven teams faced off in a highly competitive junior division of Dairy Bowl for youth ages 8-14. Shawano County Team 1 went undefeated until the final round where they had to play Barron County twice to win the championship. Shawano County team members included Evan Jauquet, Jacob Harbaugh, Sydney Gwidt, and Griffin Holewinski . They were coached by Sara Harbaugh and Heather Jauquet.

“Our junior team survived several close matches throughout the day and we were very excited to win the junior division. Several bonus questions (earned when at least 3 members of the team correctly answer a toss-up question) proved to be winning margin in most matches so they competed as a team really well,” said Heather Jauquet.

The biggest division of the day was the mixed division, which is made up of both junior and senior team members. In another strong showing, Barron County beat out runner-up Lafayette County to take home top honors. Abigail Solum, Kelli Marschall, Megan Marschall, Spencer Roemhild, and Alexa Moret made up the winning team. Their coaches were Issac Solum and Cathy Solum.

“Our team played very well all day long and had great competition,” said Cathy Solum. “They learned that sometimes you know the answer too well!”

While members waited for quiz bowl rounds, 4-H members had a chance to compete in the Dairy Management Contest with their team and as individuals.

In the Dairy Management Contest. 4-H members test their dairy management knowledge and skills, and receive experience in evaluation and decision-making.

The team from Shawano County took top honors in the senior division and will represent Wisconsin at All American Dairy Show in Harrisburg, PA. Their team consisted of Emma Gwidt, Maddy Gwidt, Nathan Ferfecki, and Whitney Ferfecki. The second place senior team was Sheboygan County. Team members included Elise Bleck, Jared Abraham, Holly Oberreich, and Dallas Kreisa.

The top ten senior individuals in the Dairy Management Contest were: 1st: Emma Gwidt, Shawano, 2nd: Maddy Gwidt, Shawano, 3rd: Elise Bleck, Sheboygan, 4th: Nathan Ferfecki, Shawano, 5th: Kristi Getschel, Polk, 6th: Marie Haase, Polk, 7th: Abigail Solum, Barron, 8th: Tayler Elwood, Polk, 9th: Jared ­­­­­­­­Abraham, Sheboygan, 10th: Holly Oberreich, Sheboygan.

Sheboygan County took home the title in the Dairy Management Contest’s mixed division. Team members are Erica Helmer, Jared VanderWeele, Abbey Oberreich, and Dakota Kreisa. The runner-up went to Grant County with team members of Randy Winch, Drew Noble, Abby Adrian, and Allison Adrian.

The top ten mixed individuals were: 1st: Mitchell Schroepfer, Langlade, 2nd: Erica Helmer, Sheboygan, 3rd: Brandon Biese, Calumet, 4th: Randy Winch, Grant, 5th: Ben Stone, Winnebago, 6th: Drew Noble, Grant, 7th: Mikayla Peper, Polk, 8th: Marcus Schopk, Langlade, 9th: Jared VanderWeele, Sheboygan, 10th: Emily Makes, Green.

In the junior division of the Dairy Management Contest, it was highly competitive between Grant and Dodge County. Grant County won by two points with a team consisting of Wesley Winch, Matthew Winch, and Christina Buttles. Team members from Dodge County included Emma Paulson, Elizabeth Gunst, Ian Spoke, Marissa Spoke.

The top ten junior individuals were: 1st: Kaylee Ferfecki, Shawano, 2nd: Lindsey Eberle, Winnebago, 3rd: Emma Paulson, Dodge, 4th: Blake VanDettei, Brown, 5th: Elizabeth Gunst, Dodge, 6th: Wesley Winch, Grant, 7th: Kay Egan, Winnebago, 8th: Kevin Biese, Brown, 9th: Rachel Durst, Richland, 10th: Tristen Ostrom, Brown.

Thanks go out to the Dairy Science faculty and staff, Badger Dairy Club members, and industry professionals who generously donated their time and effort to the contest.